loader image
 
Nosy Be map

Nosy Be is a volcanic island located in the Mozambique Channel 8 km from Madagascar in the bay of Ampasindava. Covering an area of 321 km², with a fairly turbulent relief, NosyBe culminates at Mont Lokobe (450km). Extending 26 km from North to South and 20 km from East to West, Nosy Be has a regular shape whose coasts are interrupted by numerous bays and beautiful beaches.

South of Nosy Be

You will mainly find “Hell-Ville”, the Sacred Tree of Mahatsinjo and the Lokobe Reserve.

Hell Town

Hell-ville is an old colonial city, so you can observe different historical monuments and colonial buildings, his covered market where you will find spices, tropical fruits, vegetables, crab stalls, etc. Don't forget to make a detour to its port, you have two, the new one which is the maritime entry point of Nosy Be, and the old one, the port with dhows & fishermen, a pleasant and nostalgic place.Finally, you will find in Hell-ville several souvenir shops.

Sacred tree

Called pagoda banyan, theatsacred tree of Mahatsinjo, over 200 years old is a perennial tree that can live up to several centuries. Part of a single tree, its capacity constitutes a true forest of ½ hectare which allows it to be a refuge of biodiversity. In sakalava culture, this sacred tree occupies an important symbolic place: a place of pilgrimage to ask for a blessing or the resolution of a wish.

Lokobe reserve

 The Lokobe reserve Covering 740 hectares of forest and a marine area of 122 hectares, this natural jewel has become a national park since 2011. Open to visitors of all ages, a circuit to discover its biodiversity is possible in two options: short circuit and longer. The cherry, a small beach where you can have a quiet picnic completes everything.

At the South West

It is undoubtedly the most famous and frequented part of Nosy Be, mainly Ambatoloaka, Maridokely and Ambondrona.

Ambatoloaka

7 km from Hell-Ville, Ambatoloaka, the former fishing village has become the nerve center of Nosy Be in terms of tourism. Known for its atmosphere, this village is the meeting place for all those who like the atmosphere and the attendance. Outside of the evening, Ambatoloaka is the starting point for nautical excursions, in fact Ambatoloaka is home to excursion centers, scuba diving, car / motorbike / quads / bicycle rentals.

Madirokely

A few steps from Ambatoloaka, on the same bay, this is Madirokely famous for its magnificent white sand beach and its Sunday atmosphere. This beach remains quieter than Ambatoloaka while keeping the advantages of proximity

Ambondrona

Not far from Madirokely, behind the mountain, the bay ofAmbondrona with its superb rounded beach, it is the calmest bay on the southwest coast of Nosy Be, it is also the bay where we decided to settle for its ideal location, quiet while remaining close to service providers 'activities and restaurant.

West

The main village is Dzamanzary, a place that never misses a party, whether during working days or weekends. Bar-restaurants, karaoke clubs and nightclubs are pleased to provide a warm and festive atmosphere every day, in a Malagasy atmosphere. You may know, Nosy Be has long lived thanks to sugar cane, it is a little further from Dzamanzary that you will find the SIRAMA, a sugar cane operating company that has resumed since 2015.The factory is not yet open to visitors, but this is scheduled for 2018

To the northwest

Andilana Beach

Renowned for its magnificent white sand beach, is the idyllic beach ofAndilanaVery popular on weekends and holidays, this place is the meeting place for vacationers, tourists or residents in search of relaxation where picnics as well as swimming and sunbathing are convenient. Restaurants and taverns are available on site which serve different menus based on local products (especially seafood).

Road to the North 

Mont Passot

Appreciated for its magnificent sunsets in all seasons, the site of Mont Passot surrounded by sacred lakes, have been recently renovated. You will now enjoy an asphalt road, parking for 14 cars, souvenir shops, a tavern, a panoramic terrace and suspended 360 ° view. Three walking tours to choose from:

  1. Circuit of 4km to about 2h 30mn of visit to Antsamanavaka to observe lakes, crocodiles, medicinal plants, Teks forests, waterfalls, community reforestation areas, ...
  2. 5km circuit with a 3 to 4 hour walk in Antsidihy to contemplate the birds, after visiting the village of Sakalava, the ylang ylang plantations, the artisanal distillation of ylang oils, the suspension bridge, the crocodiles, ...
  3. 6km circuit with a 4 to 5 hour visit to Amparihibe to see the orchids, Sakalava remains, perfume plants, etc ...

Lost corners of the North East

Once past Mont Passot, you go to the little-known lands of Nosy Be, in fact, apart from a few hotels that have settled there, the road is not maintained, a few villages here and there, tracks, deserted beaches, so plan excursions by motorbike or Quad for those who like this kind of places.

To the East

Mainly mangroves on the beach so a place can be exploited touristically. You will mainly find theFascène International Airport which joins Hell-ville through many fields of ylang ylangs.

We have toured Nosy Be, if we have forgotten any attractive places that you appreciated, do not hesitate to tell us about them in the comments

ut vel, dolor Praesent id, quis sed luctus adipiscing eleifend

Nosy Be est une île volcanique se situant dans le canal de Mozambique à 8 km de Madagascar dans la baie d’Ampasindava. D’une superficie de 321 km², avec un relief assez mouvementé, NosyBe culmine à Mont Lokobe (450km). Etendue de 26 km de Nord au Sud et de 20km de l’Est à l’Ouest, Nosy Be a une forme régulière dont ses côtes sont interrompues par de nombreuses baies et des belles plages.

Au Sud de Nosy Be

Vous y trouverez principalement « Hell-Ville », l’Arbre Sacrée de Mahatsinjo ainsi que la Réserve de Lokobe.

Hell Ville

Hell-ville est une ancienne ville colonial, ainsi vous pourrez y observer différents monuments historiques et bâtisses coloniaux, son marché couvert où vous trouverez des épices, fruits tropicaux, légumes, étals de crabes, etc.. N’oubliez pas de faire un détour par son port, vous en avez deux, le nouveaux qui est le point d’entrée maritime de Nosy Be, et l’ancien, le port aux boutres & pêcheurs, un endroit agréable et nostalgique.
Enfin, vous trouverez à Hell-ville plusieurs boutiques de souvenirs.

Arbre sacré

Appelé banian des pagodes, l’arbre sacré de Mahatsinjo, âgé de plus de 200 ans est un arbre pérenne qui peut vivre jusqu’à plusieurs siècles. Partie d’un seul arbre, sa capacité constitue une véritable forêt de ½ hectare qui lui permet d’être un refuge de la biodiversité. Dans la culture sakalava, cet arbre sacré occupe une place symbolique importante : un lieu de pèlerinage pour demander une bénédiction ou la résolution d’un vœu.

Réserve de Lokobe

 La Réserve de Lokobe s’étant sur 740 hectares de forêt et une partie marine de 122 hectares, ce joyau naturel est devenu parc national depuis 2011. Ouvert aux visiteurs de tous âges, un circuit à la découverte de sa biodiversité est possible en deux options : en circuit court et en plus long. La cerise, une petite plage où on peut se pique-niquer tranquillement complète tout.

Au Sud – Ouest

C’est sans aucun doute la partie la plus connue et fréquentée de Nosy Be, principalement Ambatoloaka, Maridokely et Ambondrona.

Ambatoloaka

A 7 km de Hell-Ville, Ambatoloaka, l’ancien village de pêcheur est devenu le point névralgique de Nosy Be sur le plan touristique.  Connu pour son ambiance, ce village est le coin de rencontre pour tous ceux qui aiment l’ambiance et la fréquentation. En dehors des soirée, Ambatoloaka est le lieu de départ pour les excursions nautiques, en effet Ambatoloaka abrite centres d’excursions,plongée sous-marine, locations de voitures/motos/quads/vélos.

Madirokely

A quelques pas d’Ambatoloaka, sur la même baie, ce trouve Madirokely célèbre par sa magnifique plage au sable blanc et son ambiance du Dimanche. Cette plage reste plus calme qu’Ambatoloaka tout en gardons les avantages de la proximitée

Ambondrona

Pas loin de Madirokely, derrière la montagne, la baie d’Ambondrona avec sa superbe plage arrondie, c’est la baie la plus calme de la côte Sud-Ouest de Nosy Be, c’est également la baie ou nous avons décidé de nous installer pour son emplacement idéal, calme tout en restant proche des prestataires d’activités et restaurant.

A l’Ouest

Le principal village est Dzamanzary, un lieu qui ne manque jamais de fête, que ce soit dans les jours ouvrables ou durant les week-ends. Des bar- restaurants, des clubs de karaoké et des discothèques font le plaisir de donner une ambiance chaleureuse et festive tous les jours, ceci dans une ambiance malgache.
Vous le savez peut être, Nosy Be a longtemps vécu grâce à la canne à sucre, c’est un peu plus loin de Dzamanzary que vous trouverez la SIRAMA, société d’exploitation de Canne à Sucre qui a repris son cours depuis 2015.
L’usine n’est pas encore ouverte à la visite, mais ceci est prévu pour 2018

Au Nord – Ouest

Plage d’Andilana

Réputée par sa magnifique plage au sable blanc, se trouve la plage idyllique d’Andilana.
Très fréquenté les week-ends et les jours de fête, ce lieu est le rendez-vous des vacanciers, des touristes ou des résidents en quête de décontraction où la pique-nique ainsi que la baignade et le bronzage sont commodes. Des gargotes, des restaurants sont disponible sur place qui servent des différents menus à base des produits locaux (surtout les fruits de mer).

Route vers le Nord 

Mont Passot

Apprécié pour ses couchers de soleil magnifique en toutes saisons, le site du Mont Passot entouré par des lacs sacrés, ont été récemment rénové. Vous profiterez maintenant d’une route goudronnée, d’un parking pour 14 voitures, des boutiques de souvenir, une gargote, une terrasse panoramique et suspendue à 360 la vue. Trois circuits pédestres à choisir :
  1. Circuit de 4km à environ de 2h 30mn de visite à Antsamanavaka pour observer les lacs, les crocodiles, les plantes médicinales, les forêts de Teks, les cascades, les zones de reboisement communautaire, …
  2. Circuit de 5km avec une marche de 3h à 4h à Antsidihy pour contempler les oiseaux, après la visite du village Sakalava, les plantations d’ylang ylang, la distillation artisanale des huiles d’ylang, le pont suspendu, les crocodiles, …
  3. Circuit de 6km avec 4h à 5h de visite à Amparihibe pour voir les orchidées, les vestiges Sakalava, les plantes à parfum, etc…

Coins perdus du Nord Est

Un fois passé le Mont Passot, vous partez sur les terres méconnues de nosy Be, en effet, hormis quelques hôtels qui s’y sont installés, la route n’est pas entretenue, quelques villages par-ci par la, des pistes, des plages désertes, ainsi prévoir des excursions en moto ou Quad pour ceux qui aiment ce genre de lieux.

A l’Est

Principalement de la mangrove en bord de plage ainsi un lieu peux exploité touristiquement. Vous y trouverez principalement l’Aéroport International de Fascène qui rejoint Hell-ville en passant par de nombreux champs d’ylangs ylangs.

Nous avons fait le tour de Nosy Be, si nous avons oubliés des lieux attractifs que vous avez appréciés, n’hésitez pas à nous en parler dans les commentaires

quis vulputate, ut id consequat. venenatis, Phasellus velit, tristique venenatis consectetur